The Management Committee has general authority over the policy direction, management and priorities for the Casco Bay Estuary Partnership and its core staff. It is composed of partners representing organizations and agencies, as well as individuals representing special sectors and at-large seats. Full Management Committee meetings are held quarterly.  The Executive Committee meets monthly, except for months the Management Committee meets.


Much of the work of the Partnership is guided by our committees, which meet periodically.  Our  current committees include:

  • Casco Bay Monitoring Network
  • Habitat Protection Committee
  • Habitat Restoration Committee
  • Nutrient Council

In addition, place-based committees bring together partners with shared interests in specific regions of the watershed, such as the Presumpscot River.  Ad hoc committees are established from time to time to focus on specific issues of concern.


Board Chair:  Kathleen Leyden, Director, Maine Coastal Program
Vice Chair:  Fred Dillon, Stormwater Coordinator, City of South Portland Water Resource Protection


Michael Feldman, Realtor, Brunswick
Howard Gray, Board member, Acadia Center
Matt Liebman, Environmental Biologist, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (alt)
Regina Lyons, Chief, Ocean and Coastal Protection Unit, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Betty McInnes, District Manager, Cumberland County Soil and Water Conservation District
Scott Lindsay, Region A Wildlife Biologist, Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife
Don Witherill, Bureau of Water Quality, Maine Department of Environmental Protection (alt)


Nick Battista, Marine Programs Director, Island Institute
Erno Bonebakker
, Casco Bay Island Development Association
Damian Brady, Assistant Research Professor, University of Maine, Maine Sea Grant
Jacki Cohen, at-large representative
Ivy Frignoca, Casco BayKeeper, Friends of Casco Bay
Nancy Gallinaro, Water Resources Manager, City of Portland Public Services Department
Rick Harbison, Greater Portland Council of Governments
Charles Hebson, Chief Hydrologist, Maine Department of Transportation (alt)
Kohl Kanwit, Public Health Bureau Director, Maine Department of Marine Resources
Charlene Poulin, Chief Operator Wastewater Systems, Portland Water District
Tamara Risser, at-large representative
Tom Shyka, Outreach and Communications Specialist, Northeastern Regional Association of Coastal and Ocean Observing Systems
John Spritz, at-large representative
Karen Wilson, Associate Research Professor, University of Southern Maine Department of Environmental Science and Policy